Top Ten Tracks with 8Kays

Author : Marco Sgalbazzini
September 29, 2020

Top Ten Tracks with 8Kays

We have to be honest, Renaissance Towers – no doubt like a lot of similar labels – have heard a LOT of lockdown records over the past 4 or 5 months, as their latest from 8Kays demonstrates. Whilst many were dark, dire affairs that would only serve as a painful reminder no one probably wants, one submission truly stood apart from the crowd; step forward 8Kays who makes her Renaissance debut.

Sun Will Come Out is a beautifully positive record. In original form it’s a standout juxtaposition of Ira’s (aka 8Kays) haunting vocal over a chunky, bass-busting groove as she explains:

“I made this EP during my isolation at home in Kyiv. Initially ’Sun Will Come Out’ sounded completely different, but because of lockdown I wanted to bring out the vocal and the melody to provide that feel of beauty and positivity. It’s entirely different to anything I’ve produced before.”

The remix comes courtesy of Matthias Meyer, who takes the records ethereal sound and turns it up to eleven. It’s a shimmering piece of musical loveliness that will perfectly complement the tail-end of summer as the world continues to – hopefully – improve.

The package is rounded out by 8Kays’ ‘Kaleidoscope’ and, for the vocal-phobic out there, a ‘Matthias Meyer Instrumental’. Truly something for everyone.

In honor of the release, we asked 8Kays to share her current top 10 favorite tracks with us. Enjoy the playlist below:

1. Booka Shade, Eli & Fur – To The Sea [Blaufield Music]

This year my friends Booka Shade have released a new album sharply titled ‘Dear Future Self’. it consists of many amazing tracks, and I was lucky to remix one of them. The original track ‘To The Sea’ was made in collaboration with Eli & Fur, it really impressed me and became my favourite.

2. Betical – Icon (Original Mix) [Atlant]

French project Betical became a true revelation to me this year. I really liked the way melodic parts and broken rhythms complemented each other in ‘Icon. I wish the guys a lot of inspiration to keep up with the good work!

3. Louis La Roche – Deepest Blue (feat. Delfy)

I’ve added this track to my playlist quite a while ago and it’s probably not the most recent release by Louis La Roche, but it’s definitely an outstanding record with a hint of melancholy and ‘80s vibes. Look forward to hearing more from Delfy.

4. Matthew Dekay – Heimreise [SIAMESE017]

I’ve been a fan of Matthew Dekay’s since 2005. I enjoy having several of his records in my vinyl collection. Really glad that ‘Heimreise’ release is finally out.

5. Sasha, Artche – Siren Chords (Original Mix) [Last Night On Earth]

As I’ve mentioned above, I really like a healthy dose of eclecticism in music. For example, some references to the old-school breaks with its syncopated kick or classical progressive house. In releases like ‘Siren Chords’, I find inspiration to create something special.

6. Maceo Plex – Nu World [Ellum]

This track definitely doesn’t need any further explanation. I admire the way Maceo creates dance bangers again and again, actually not blindly following any modern trends.

7. Ben Böhmer – Cappadocia feat. Romain Garcia [Cercle]

I’m super excited about Cercle’s recently founded record label. Especially when its history starts with a release by amazing Ben Böhmer. Music + location = LOVE

8. Khåen – Phantom Reigns (Avoure Remix) [TIME:CODE MUSIC]

It’s a beautiful remix by my fellow countrymen Avoure. If you’ve never heard about him, I highly recommend that you give him a listen, beginning with this great record.

9. BLANCAh – After Rain (Original Mix) [Renaissance Records]

One more amazing artist to keep your eyes on is BLANCAh whose new album was released this year. The LP turned out to be more like a personal story than just commercially successful material. The elegant mix of electronic music and ethnic motives makes me feel really positive and cheerful.

10. Arude – Instant (Extended Mix) [Armada Electronic Elements]

I’m so glad to see the growing amount of emerging talented artists in Ukraine. There’s no room to mention everyone but I’d like you to keep your eyes on this guy – Arude.

8Kays ’Sun Will Come Out’ EP is out now on Renaissance Records. Buy / Stream it HERE