Premiere: Reeko Explores Imperfect Melodies and Sonic Soundscapes with Experimental “Duality” LP

Reeko Duality
Author : Marco Sgalbazzini
November 25, 2020

Premiere: Reeko Explores Imperfect Melodies and Sonic Soundscapes with Experimental “Duality” LP

Although Reeko has gotten us used to experimentation in many of his works, this time he goes a step further with his Duality LP on Mental Disorder. Better not expect to find a dance beat on this album, not even a hint to the dancefloor. Instead, let’s find a good seat and close our eyes and start to journey inwards and outwards at the same time.

Already in ancient Greece the universe and the idea of music were linked as intertwined elements. The Harmony of the Spheres that Pythagoras named is nothing if not a starting point for this inner journey that Reeko makes in the form of an album. Duality, ying and yang, black and white, us and the universe… All indivisible and physical elements that with their existence make our lives music. Channelling all this is what this Asturian artist does, living it from introspection and transcendence, from inside to out.

Read our exclusive interview, Reeko vs Architectural: Juan Rico’s Split Personality

“Dualidad” shows us a constant struggle between the drive of imperfect melodies and that cosmos we were talking about. Two sides of the same coin, the irregularity of the universal “noise” against the softness of a light song, the dissonance that fights with harmony. Thus, a handful of songs emerge that require patient listening, without haste, with all the senses activated to appreciate the nuances that we will find built on layers of intricate sound sequences.

Tracks were generated in the most organic way, in a single take, with hardly any post-production, resulting in a personal and unique work.

Listen to the exclusive premiere of “Dualidad 7” from Reeko’s forthcoming new album on Mental Disorder:


Listening to the tracks of “Dualidad” we are invited to take the journey that Reeko proposes us, letting ourselves be carried away by that visual imaginary so cinematographic that we all have in our heads about the universe. Who has not ever imagined crossing beyond the rings of Saturn?

Reeko Duality Tracklisting:

01. Dualidad 1 (05:10)
02. Dualidad 2 (14:06)
03. Dualidad 3 (07:40)
04. Dualidad 4 (06:22)
05. Dualidad 5 (16:14)
06. Dualidad 6 (10:42)
07. Dualidad 7 (06:24)
08. Dualidad 8 (06:12)
09. Dualidad 9 (09:08)
10. Dualidad 10 (09:42)
11. Dualidad 11 (07:40)
12. Dualidad 12 (05:50)
13. Dualidad 13 (03:08)
14. The Trip ·bonus track· (16:26)

Reeko Duality is out Nov 27th on Mental Disorder and available HERE

Connect with Reeko: Facebook | Resident Advisor | SoundCloud