Keith Carnal Delivers Debut “Retrofit” LP On New SEC NDº Imprint

Author : Marco Sgalbazzini
October 31, 2019

Keith Carnal Delivers Debut “Retrofit” LP On New SEC NDº Imprint

Now based in Amsterdam, Keith Carnal grew up in a musical home in the northern part of The Netherlands, but it was techno that made a lasting impression on him.

Following EPs and a string of highly-acclaimed releases on esteemed imprints the likes of ARTS and Affin, Keith launched his own SEC NDº (Second Degree) imprint in late 2018. The aim? To showcase his atmospheric yet sparkling productions which have been held in high respect throughout the techno scene for many years. After two successful EPs on the label that picked up support from the likes of Len Faki, Marcel Fengler, Matrixxman and many more, Keith felt that it was time to show what he can do as a producer. The result is his brilliantly produced debut album, titled Retrofit

Talking about the album, Keith weighed in:

“The album, Retrofit, is a reflection of my inspiration based on the music I grew up with. It especially emphasizes on the neo-noir movies and the music that came with those movies. Think of Blue Velvet, Blade Runner, Twin Peaks, True Romance, etc. But it also is inspired on events that took place in my life, think of weekends without sleep and going to parties in Berlin and here in Amsterdam. Clubs like Trouw, Berghain and the Gashouder that helped me in finding the sound I stand for today.

But also from my youth where I’d listen to every kind of genre up my attic bedroom, hours and hours each day. “Retrofit” basically means modernising vintage technology. This term really seemed “fit” for what the labels encompasses. The album includes 10 tracks, which go from instrumental to the more club ready kind of tracks.” – Keith Carnal


‘Neo-Noir’ kicks off the album with humming drones balanced with a revolving drum loop and stirring tension before making room for ‘Sprinkle Dust’ that lays focus on wavering 303 sequences, undulant, angelic leads and resonating, chuggy kicks. ‘Take it From Me’ fuses growling modulations with hypnotic pads and shimmering subs that progress throughout until ‘Way Back When’ provides an emotive atmosphere through euphoric synths and alleviating ambience. Melancholy melodies sprinkled with euphoric keys and humming reverberations then provide mesmerizing feelings throughout ‘You Look Beautiful’.

‘One-on-One’ together with ‘Not Your Ordinary’ pick up the energy with effervescent, dancefloor-ready techno cuts featuring vibrant percussion, thrilling oscillations and transcendental sound design. ‘Fresh Needle’ offers up crunchy compositions, sweeping tones and storming synthesis while ‘Moving Molecules’ delivers tender melodic flutters harmoniously balanced with immersive sound design and captivating energy. ‘Pillow Talk’ provides a dramatic finish as the sparse textures, tantalizing harmonics and cinematic swells round off this incredibly enchanting album.

The album showcases Keith’s dynamic, effective and eclectic studio muscles in ways not many LPs do. This is not a compilation of dance-floor-ready bangers, but rather a mesmerizing and well-thought-out journey through Keith’s mind as an artist. This is not to say that none of the tracks are ready for dance floor play. Rather, it underscores the fact that Retrofit is far beyond a “debut” album — it’s a collection of carefully-crafted tracks, seasoned by never-ending years of musical passion.


1. Neo Noir
2. Sprinkle Stardust
3. Take it From Me
4. Way Back When
5. You Look Beautiful
6. One-on-One
7. Not Y our Ordinary
8. Fresh Needle
9. Moving Molecules
10. Pillow Talk

Keith Carnal Retrofit drops on SEC NDº on 22nd November 2019 and is available HERE

Connect with Keith Carnal: Facebook | RA | Twitter | Instagram | SoundCloud

Connect with SEC NDº (Second Degree): Facebook | SoundCloud | Bandcamp