Blocaus Series Releases Charity “Era Novum” V/A With Tracks From Surgeon, Oscar Mulero, Peter van Hoesen, Function

Blocaus Series - Era Novum
Author : Marco Sgalbazzini
July 02, 2020

Blocaus Series Releases Charity “Era Novum” V/A With Tracks From Surgeon, Oscar Mulero, Peter van Hoesen, Function

Blocaus Series releases Era Novum, 15 tracks compilation featuring Adriana Lopez, AWB, Blue Hour, Burden, Clotur, Espen Lauritzen, Function, Javier Bähr, Keikari, Landwehr & Fleer, Oscar Mulero, Peter Van Hoesen, Surgeon, Thomas Hessler, Vith.

A long list of artists that contribute to our scene, familiar names including rising talents and true techno legends. Era Novum’s sound oscillates between of variety of styles, a wide musical spectrum varying from ambient, deep, hypnotic to raw straightforward techno tracks.

This V/A is comprised of 15 transcendent and effective cuts with a different approach in mind, making this compilation a truly musical experience. “Era Novum”, a Latin name symbolises a new area after the chaos wrought by the coronavirus pandemic: we are on the cusp of a new era.

All profits will be donated to UNICEF France who protect and support children and families affected by COVID-19. Blocaus Series is planning to continue with this project, each compilation promoting new talents with the contribution of established artists, while also raising fund and awareness for a great cause.

Support the release on Bandcamp here and enjoy a premiere of Surgeon’s track on the release below!

More About Blocaus Series

Blocaus Series is a French techno label created in 2016, as the next stage in our evolution after four successful years of hosting parties at various venues in Paris. By, among other things, showcasing label nights and giving a number of international artists their Paris debut performance, Blocaus has achieved a reputation as a highly acclaimed event with an incredible vision and focus to support the techno scene in France.

More About Surgeon

Surgeon, real name Anthony Child, has been at the forefront of UK techno since 1994.

His debut “Surgeon EP” is regarded by many as seminal, and along with several early Downwards releases, caused a ripple of excitement through the techno cognoscenti of the time. Surgeon released a further three albums on Tresor, numerous Counterbalance and Dynamic Tension EPs and LPs “Body Request” in 2000, “Breaking The Frame” LP in 2011, and “From Farthest Known Objects” in 2016.

Over the course of his career, the Birmingham resident has perfected a unique and uncommonly effective production style. His is a tough techno sound with an industrial murk about it but also plenty of funk, swing and a sophisticated sense of dub-space learned in part from his Chain Reaction contemporaries in Berlin.

Further evidence of these multi-functional production skills can be seen on Surgeon’s impressive remix CV, working with the biggest names in techno (Dave Clarke, Luke Slater/PAS, Green Velvet, Hardfloor, the Black Dog etc), Thom Yorke (Radiohead), Glasgow post-rock outfit Mogwai, old masters Faust and Coil, and most recently, artists such Moderat, Shed, Traversable Wormhole and Scuba.

Recently dubbed by FACT magazine as arguably the finest techno DJ in the world, Surgeon is also naturally one of the most in-demand, with DJ mixes for Warp and Fabric and a schedule spread across Europe and Japan. He has played every key club/event/festival going, helped pioneer Birmingham’s House of God and held a 3 year residency at Tresor (Berlin) during its all-powerful 1990s peak. He is also one half of the much loved BMB (British Murder Boys) project with Regis. He’s currently performing improvised live sets with Lady Starlight and also with Blawan as TRADE.

Contemporary Surgeon sets are notable for experimentation with new DJ technologies embracing cutting edge hardware, increasingly blurring the line between a DJ set and a live performance. Surgeon is a selector of some skill and one of the most inventive, intuitive users of Ableton out there. Using techno as a vehicle to carry his artistic message, he also mixes up everything from contemporary bass music/dubstep to Rephlex-esque electronica to create a coherent, intense and righteously banging whole.

Era Novum Track Listing:

1 – Blue Hour – Mira’s Theme
2 – AWB – Loose fit
3 – Thomas Hessler – Questions Remain
4 – Clotur – Illustratio
5 – Function – Meridian
6 – Landwehr & Fleer – Videodrome
7 – Keikari – Looping Methods
8 – Burden – Fenice
9 – Espen Lauritzen – Nord Troms
10 – Adriana Lopez – Sudden Halt
11 – Surgeon – We Must All Do Better
12 – Peter Van Hoesen – Birds on the Head of a Saint
13 – Oscar Mulero – Purk
14 – Javier Bähr – Teahupoo
15 – Vith – Spite

Blocaus Series Era Novum V/A is now available on Bandcamp

Connect with Surgeon: Twitter | Instagram | SoundCloud

Connect with Blocaus Series: Facebook | Instagram | SoundCloud