ASEC Premieres “Taking Turns,” A Pounding Minimal Techno Track

Author : Nadia Shamsedin
March 31, 2021

ASEC Premieres “Taking Turns,” A Pounding Minimal Techno Track

ASEC premieres “Taking Turns,” a pounding minimal techno track via OECUS. This marks the label’s third digital release compilation OCSDGTL003 VA. Coming armed with five well-curated original tracks, this VA will take listeners on an intense ride through a deep sound spectrum.

With “Taking Turns,” the modular synth master ASEC adds a brilliant yet relentlessly banging dance floor piece to the well-rounded VA. Build up on atonal dirty layered leads, being conducted by minimalistic hi-hats and underlying creeping atmospheres.

6AM Premiere: ASEC “Taking Turns” – OECUS


Kicking off OCSDGTL003 VA is Anthony Tring’s “Phase 3” luring listeners right in with pulsating rhythms accompanied by an evolving droning synth. “Phase 3” invokes a feeling of calm but powerful atmosphere, opening the path for Kameliia’s energetic track “Pulsar.” A dissonant but shimmering lead intensifies the dystopian character of this track, driven forward through a relentless stomping kick drum.

Monovsn’s “Magnetic Flux” features shimmering synthesizers which push and pull on each other, creating an emotion of void and magnetism, leading into ASEC’s “Taking Turns.” Oxygeno rounds out the VA with “False Concept,” crafting a threatening yet droning atmosphere throughout the track. A rolling groove alongside thundering soundscapes characterizes the vibe of the this well-designed dystopian soundscape.

OCSDGTL003 VA the label keeps the focus on the hynoptic and atmospherical side of techno. Be its mesmerizing synth lines or pulsating kick drums, this VA stands out amongst others with its droning, echoing, and shifting textures alongside dirty atonal sound design.

The full OCSDGTL003 | VA is out April 2, 2021 on OECUS Records.

OCSDGTL003 | VA Tracklist:

1. Anthony Tring – “Phase 3”
2. Kameliia – “Reboot”
3. Monovsn – “Magnetic Flux”
4. ASEC – “Taking Turns”
5. Oxygeno – “False Concept”

Follow ASEC SoundCloud | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Bandcamp 
Follow OECUS SoundCloud | Facebook | Instagram | Bandcamp